Green Party Candidate Jill Stein speaking at Metro Community College in Omaha, Nebraska.
Green Party Candidate Jill Stein speaking at Metro Community College in Omaha, Nebraska.

Welcome to the Unpopular Politics Blog! The title of this post explains why I named my blog what I did. I’ve always classified myself as a Democrat, but this being a unique election cycle, I chose to go a different route. My gut didn’t allow me to chose any other way.

I have to admit, I didn’t come to this choice easily. After Bernie Sanders lost the primary election and endorsed Hillary Clinton, it seemed like a no-brainer to vote for Hillary, not only because she represents the Democratic Party, but because of the fear  that if I didn’t vote for a popular political party, then there would be no chance of defeating Donald Trump. Many people say, “Voting for Jill is voting for Trump,” but I don’t believe that. A vote for Jill is a vote for Jill.  Hillary Clinton has not earned my vote and she shouldn’t get my vote just because she’s a “Democrat.” Hillary Clinton has proven time and time again that she cannot be trusted and that she believes the American people are stupid and have no common sense.

Jill Stein stands up for what I believe in and although I don’t agree with all of her points, I agree with most of them. She cares about the underrepresented. She’s honest. She has a strong moral compass. She’s brave despite blatant opposition. I like her and that’s enough for me. I’m not wasting my vote. After all, it is my vote and I choose to use it for someone who I admire.

Are you voting for the same political party that you did in the last election cycle?  Why or why not? Leave a comment below!

Watch one of my favorite Jill Stein interviews:

